The Hip Society, annually, gives out three (3) scientific awards for papers submitted from the various training programs or from practicing orthopaedic surgeons for presentation at the AAOS Annual Meeting, during The Hip Society/AAHKS Specialty Day Programming. Award submissions are solicited from members and non-members.  The awards are named after individuals who have made outstanding contributions to reconstructive surgery of the hip:

  • The Otto Aufranc and the John Charnley Awards:  Papers submitted in these categories are to be based on innovative research, either clinical or basic, encompassing important advances in the management of hip disorders.
  • The Frank Stinchfield Award: This prize is given to a resident or fellow in training who submits an outstanding contribution concerning hip problems.

The deadline to submit a full manuscript in consideration for an award is December 1, 2021.

To review the submission guidelines and to submit your your paper, please click HERE.  Journal of Arthroplasty is the official Journal of The Hip Society.



Otto Aufranc, MD          

John Charnley, MD


Frank Stinchfield, MD


Established in 2008, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes those who have achieved academic excellence and made significant contributions to study of arthritic diseases of the hip, as well as the accomplishments of the distinguished persons who have created a lasting legacy in this field.

The Hip Society is honored to recognize the recipient of
the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award.
Allan E. Gross, MD
Learn more
Past Recipients of the Award:
  • 2019 John J. Callaghan, MD
  • 2018 Reinhold Ganz, MD, Professor Emeritus
  • 2016 Clive P. Duncan, MD, FRCSC
  • 2014 Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD
  • 2013 Charles A. Engh, Sr, MD
  • 2012 Thomas H. Mallory, MD
  • 2010 Jorge O. Galante, MD
  • 2008 William H. Harris, MD